Greenwich, Connecticut offers the best of all worlds. Part New England charm, part cosmopolitan New York suburb, it's fifty square miles are a glorious blend of past and present. Perfectly placed along a pristine shoreline and less that an hour from the heart of Manhattan, it's a vibrant community with very low property taxes, exceptional schools and endless recreational opportunities.
Of the many towns that make up Fairfield County's Gold Coast, Greenwich is by far one of the most unique, the most diverse and the most charitable minded. Its residents take their cues from the past generations who gave generously of their time and wealth to ensure that the parks, beaches and residential properties could be enjoyed by not just the very financially fortunate, but by all who call it home.
Greenwich is made up of several smaller communities, each retaining their own character and traditions which all are welcome to enjoy.
Originally known as Mianus, after the Sinawoy chief Mianos, Cos Cob has the advantage of the Mianus River running through it, leading out to Long Island Sound. Fertile lands made for ideal farming and it's proximity to the water make the perfect place to export vegetation and goods to New York City. The thriving seaport then evolved into highly regarded artists colony centered around the Bush-Holley house which today is home to the Historical Society of the Town of Greenwich. Like the other communities, Cos Cob has it's own post office, fire department and shopping district which is known as "The Hub". Here one can find fresh fish, organic foods and a variety of other business all within walking distance to it's parks and the Cos Cob Library. The homes in Cos Cob range from turn of the century farm houses and bungalows to the tudors that populate Valleywood Road. Notable residents include the late historical author Anya Seton, whose father, Ernest Thompson Seton played a vital role in founding the Boy Scouts of America.
The original town of Greenwich was settled here in the 1640's, purchased from the Sinoway Indians for twenty five English coats. Known for many years as "Old Town" as the rest of the Greenwich spread west, it was later dubbed "Sound Beach". From 1930 it has been known as Old Greenwich and changed from a farming and fishing community to a summer resort town. In fact many of the homes found along the waterfront began as summer cottages and were later turned into permanent residences. Its main street is known as Sound Beach Avenue and has the feel of walking through a quiet New England village. Binney Park is another example of the generosity of it's forbearers, as in the early 1930's crayon king Edwin Binney purchased 22 acres of marshy land along Sound Beach Avenue. He then oversaw the design and construction this beautiful park that features meandering walkways and footbridges and today is the pride of Old Greenwich, always busy with joggers, dog walkers and the backdrop for wedding photos. At the tail end of Greenwich lays another spectacular gemstone known at Greenwich Point. Once the estate of wealthy banker J. Kennedy Tod, and know as Tod's Point, it was later bequeathed to New York Presbyterian Hospital. In 1944 the town of Greenwich purchased the 148 acre property and changed its name to Greenwich Point. The property enjoys year round use from swimming and picnicking to jogging and boating, plus offers a local yacht club open to all residents and a sailing school. Greenwich Point is by far, one of the more popular destinations for all residents.
Crossing the Mianus River into Riverside, the natural beauty of Greenwich continues to flourish. Originally known as Mianus Neck, it was for many years a community of farmers and fisherman. The original 18th and 19th homes still stand proudly intermixed with thoughtfully designed new construction. A popular choice for those who commute to Manhattan but enjoy waterfront living, Riverside offers miles of pristine coastline and enviable private associations those who love to fish, sail or simply enjoy waking up to a water view.
Sign in with